Ghana Cricket National Team confirmed her supremacy over Nigeria by winning with 4 wickets to complete a double as well as win the International Cricket Council World T20 Africa ‘A’ Qualifier. Captain Isaac Aboagye won the toss and once again elected to field like the first game they won which was a decision that eventually paid off after reducing Nigeria to 73 runs all out in 19.3 overs courtesy of superb bowling from Koffi Bagabena 4 wickets, 22 runs in 3.3 overs, Micheal Aboagye 2 wickets, 4 runs, 4 overs and 2 maiden overs. The task looked daunting for Captain Chimezie Onwuzulike in the second innings as they achieved the feat with 32 balls to spare.

Samson Kwasi top scored with 26 runs out, Wicket Keeper and Man of the Match Julius Mensah dropped 20 runs while Peter Ananya added 11 runs to hand Ghana victory over Nigeria who finished 2nd but still qualified for the 7th edition of T20 in 2019 while both Sierra Leone and The Gambia failed to make it past the qualifiers. During the closing ceremony which took place at Landmark Event Centre some several players who stood head and shoulders above the rest when the going got really tough won different awards. Based on a gentlemanly attitude that the sport is known for it was deserving that the Fair Play Award went to Gambian Cricket National Team.

On the field, there was an exhibition of fine groundwork and catching, but no one stood out more than Abubakarr Kamara of Sierra Leone, who collected five catches in the outfield over six matches, to claim the Fielder of the Tournament. Bowler of the Tournament was won by Left arm bowler Mohameed Taiwo of Nigeria, whose 9 wickets cost him a combined 76 runs at an economy of 4.18 as well as a strike rate of a wicket every 12. 1 deliveries over the course of six matches. In terms of striking the ball to scare both bowlers and fielders no one scored more runs than Nigerian skipper Chimezie Onwuzulike, spreading 234 runs across six innings, with a memorable best of 90 not out against Gambia. The top-order man also struck a tournament high of 17 fours and 13 sixes in his six visits to the crease with an average of 46.80 and also scored an healthy strike rate of 132.20.

The biggest prize which was Player of the Tournament went to Ghana’s Simon Ateak, who scored two half-centuries, including a calm 57runs not out against Nigeria, to notch up 143 runs in total with a strike rate of 102. 06. There was also a special moment for one of the officials during the course of the tournament as Umpire Ravi Angara of Botswana stood in his 100th game between Nigeria and Sierra Leone while for Andrew Louw Jr of Namibia, he began his umpiring career by standing with his father Wynand Andrew Louw in his first International match. Following the completion of the ICC World T20 Qualifier attention now shifts to African Cricket Association Competition that has 5 teams (Nigeria, Ghana, Gambia, Sierra-Leone and Cameroon which starts on Monday, April 23, 2018.”