Matthijs de Ligt has been named Player of the Year in the Eredivisie for the 2018/19 campaign after leading Ajax to their first Dutch league title in five years.

The 19-year-old centre-back has become the youngest player to have ever been awarded the Dutch Golden Boot trophy.

PSV Eindhoven striker Luuk de Jong clinched the Silver Boot, while Ajaxforward Dusan Tadic won the Bronze Boot.

The Golden Boot is an award given by the newspaper De Telegraaf and has been awarded to players such as Johan Cruyff, Frank Rijkaard, Ronald Koeman, Romario, Ronald de Boer and Luis Suarez.

“It’s a good list of names and the fact that they won this award is an additional motivation for me to achieve everything I can in my career,” said De Ligt.

“This [award] is good for the history books and I’m proud of that.”

The Ajax captain will receive his award in September in a gala, where he will be joined by his Ajax teammate Frenkie de Jong, who will collect the prize for the Best Talent of the season in the Eredivisie.